jump to navigation

I am Kuwaiti but me no Arabic December 28, 2007

Posted by Deera Chat Family in culture, kuwait, language, Podcast.
trackback

we have talked about injecting English phrases in our conversations in the Kuwaitish episode, this week we will be talking about just talking English 24/7 and forgetting about Arabic. People are teaching their kids English when they r babes till they grow up in and outside the house which is making them forget totally about their mother language. Is that good or bad? do we need Arabic now or everything is converting to English anyways so why bother? listen us to our show this week to find out the answers

Comments

1. Outkasty - December 28, 2007

LOOOOL! lighbaar ma3lam min ma3alim jawna, fa ohma 7abbaw yejme3on ma3lemmain ib-mokan wa7ed

2. BeDoOr - December 28, 2007

Soug sharg ! waahahahahahaha 😀 ..

tomorrow morning *sat* im Gona go to kuwait Towers in the morning 😀 in a photography visite with my bro and nephews and neice 😀 .. cuz they lived out side kuwait for like … long time .. so yeah they have to see kuwait ! .. and kuwait towers … hope its not dusty though :/

you’re right Ali .. about working in english suroundings ..
i dont blame kids too .. when they go to english private schools ..
but i have a point .. about the cultures.. i knew some ppl .. they’re amaricans but they learn english .. why here in kuwait we’re not talking arabic so they can learn .. why would we talk english and feel ashamed if we couldnt talk to anyone in english ?! ..

they’re in our country they should learn arabic ..

but it has great good sides for sure .

as for me .. i work in a gov sector ( yeah i know a BIG FAT YUCK dont get me started ) but oh well .. my work ofcourse is in arabic .. most of it .. but when it comes for me to write a note or something .. i’ll type it in english or write it ..
at first i found it just silly to have notes in english just cuz i dont know how to phrase what i want to write for my boss in arabic ! .. i laugh when i read what i right in arabic and just throw out the paper and right it in english ..specially when i read his CV that he’s a harvard graduate .. so yeah that made it easier ;)) .. although i read alot of arabic and english books .. i just find it easier for me to express .. ;$ * shy face * but im working on it ..

thanks guys ..

3. SpaCe`` - December 28, 2007

ليش بالديرة هذه الكل يتفلسف بالصج والجذب؟
واحد ايام يدرس بجامعة الكويت يقول راحت لغتي العربية لانه الدراسة كلها بالانجليزي!! ياخي ندرس برة وماراحت لغتنا ولاشي واسوء شي يصير انك تفقد الكلمات الاولى خصوصا بالحالات المفاجاة لكن بالاوقات العادية وغير المفاجاه نغرد بالعربي.
ديرة بكبرها لازم تدش الطب النفسي والمشكلة ناثر على الى يشتغلون عندنا. مهاجر ايراني هني مشتغل بالكويت يقولي انا عندي فلوس وايد بس اشتغل عشان املي وقت فراغي … ايراني ثاني مشتغل بدبي ومهاجر قالي نفس الكلمة. لو انا امريكي ولا بريطاني ولاكندي بيقولولي الكلام هذا؟ اكيد لا. لان هذا تاثير الكويت والكويتييين وديرة التفلسف.

4. Fast Lane - December 28, 2007

I think its very imp for us to rem our roots..so to keep up with it we need arabic side by side with english!

5. BornConfuzed - December 28, 2007

I saw a caricature some time ago, depicting an Arabic teacher telling his student “You have to learn ‘kan w akhawatuha’ to be able to solve crosswords in magazines”. Well isn’t that just becoming a sad reality?

6. Perfecty - December 29, 2007

i completely agree with fast lane.

7. Deera chat family - December 29, 2007

By the way, did you notice that if you need something, like a chair or newspaper in Starbucks, you tend to ask the other customers in English!

8. BornConfuzed - December 29, 2007

Some time ago I saw a caricature, depicting an Arabic teacher telling his student “You have to learn kan w akhawatuha to be able to solve crosswords in magazines”.
Well isn’t that just becoming so sadly true?

9. William - December 29, 2007

English is the most prominent language when it comes to communication and commerce. I am speaking globally here. It seems the vast majority of people know at least a little bit of English. It can never hurt to know more than one language.

As far as forgetting your roots… Languages fade without practice. In and around the Middle East I am sure it is possible to keep your Arabic “up to date,” as some would say. If you travel to a country to live where the majority of the people speak English, the Arabic will fade. It’s not a choice; it’s a side effect of society.

The comment from Bedoor… “they’re in our country they should learn arabic .. ” That’s a very pompous thing to say, if in fact you were completely serious. If people want to remain ignorant, I think we should let them. Some of us have learned or are learning Arabic and have really embraced the culture.

10. bO_s3ayD - December 30, 2007

aGol eShfeeh eL seXy ? :p lool

Nice topic guys you always bring good subjects wana a7ayeekom 3la hal shy :p

This is right many ppl are abandoning the arabic and apeaking english as much as they can thinking that it’s cool and stuff!!

this very wrong and for me someone who’s graduated from an english school and a fluent apeaker I don’t really speak english with my friends at all!! I’m Kuwaiti and I love my language and will speak it all the time, with Arabs ofcourse.

Those Kuwaities who speak english with their friends I always look at them in a sarcastic way and (AngeD 3LehOm!!)

that’s all

thaNks fOr readin’

11. Tristram Shandy - December 30, 2007

There’s nothing to be ashamed of speaking a foreign language even with your own but it is shameful when people cannot communicate and properly, in their native. I see this happening all the time with upwardly mobile Indians living both in mainland India and overseas. Knowing how to speak posh English is one thing but not knowing how to speak in your mother tongue is quite another. There are in fact, any number of Indians who are rather proud at not being able to think in their vernacular for somehow it makes them feel they’ve arrived, and this I think is sad. It’ almost like saying they are itching to have their Indianness removed. I don’t know if the Arab diaspora is in partial agreement, at least, with their experience of this phenomenon.

12. BeDoOr - December 30, 2007

انا ما قلت اني ماعرف اتكلم عربي ولا اعبر .. بس بالدوام احس اسهل لي من اني اكتب شي بالعربي …
=)
و لانه ديرة شات مكان احبه وايد راح اقولكم مشكورين و ماقصرتو
=))))

13. Hamad - January 1, 2008

your topic was interesting ..
the way you said everything and the aspects of it was simple and you reached the point so quick ..
keep it up ..

14. Deera chat family - January 2, 2008

Hamad
thank you for your comment, we appreciate the feedback, we have some really nice topics for you for the next month so stay toned 🙂 you will love it

15. q8tiya - January 2, 2008

I realize that this may be a couple of days too late but I was happy to see that this issue was being discussed. It’s overwhelmingly obvious that over relatively recent years, English has invaded the country and is, unfortunately, showing no signs of relenting.
And while I will concede that it is by far the language most often used for communication all over the world, English is easily outranked by a string of different languages, not least of which is Arabic.
As for the comment made by William about the supposedly ‘pompous’ comment by Bedoor, his is a comment that I utterly disagree with. First I’d like to applaud your effort to learn Arabic and immerse yourself in a new culture. I assure you that your life will be enriched by the language and the experience. And I too believe that learning a new language is never a bad thing.
However, I do not find what Bedoor said pompous at all. I think that native English speakers are far more pompous when they travel to countries that are steeped in rich history and ancient culture and assume that the people of said country speak English. I find this attitude to be fantastically condescending; why is it pompous for someone to say “they’re in our country they should learn arabic .. ” when we, as Kuwaitis and Arabs, do the same thing, and are in fact expected to do the same thing, when we travel to English speaking countries?!
Why are we expected to accommodate English speakers in their own AS WELL AS in OUR own country, while it is acceptable for them to exempt themselves from the very rule they have come to expect people around the world to conform to?!

16. Deera Chat Family - January 3, 2008

Q8tiya:
loved your comment, we agree with you fully. (saved us a lot of writing)

17. Nicole - January 3, 2008

I guess, it’s good when the kids are able to speak English, but they shouldn’t forget their Mother tongue over it.
That’s just sad 😦

18. William - January 3, 2008

@Q8tiya: It was a pointed comment at a statement that has become all too common in every society in the world. If you travel to an English speaking country, most people would expect you to speak or learn some English.. not because of your nationality, but because you speak a foreign language. The same goes for every society, You do bring up good points though. In general, I would agree that English speakers are more demanding when it comes to foreigners learning their language. Anyone who takes that position I feel is acting in a pompous (condascending, your word fits much better) manner.

I would disagree that you are expected to accomodate English speakers in your own country as well, but I will not deny the fact that many here do attempt to accomodate. I made the decision to try and improve my written/spoken arabic because I found myself in too many situations where I was unable to communicate with someone due to them not speaking English, or speaking it poorly. (My arabic is still rather atrocious, but it’s passable at times.)

19. Sam - January 4, 2008

Another interesting topic. The comments are also rather fascinating.

I think it is important for children and adults alike to be able to speak their mother tongue. It’s part of who you are, who your parents are, and where you came from. It’s not wrong to forget it, but I do find it rather sad. My English declines every now and again, but I do everything I can to recover it. It’s my first language. I won’t give it up.

Everyone expects people to accomodate them in some form or another. It’s human nature. From my personal experience, I do agree with “Q8tiya” that English speakers are worse in this regard to other languages. Anyone in an English speaking country that does not know the language is expected to conform, regardless of which country you are from. English is only outranked by Mandarin Chinese in number of speakers though. Spanish and Hindi seem to alternate 3rd and 4th, while Arabic is at 5th. The numbers vary depending on which study you read and the sources they used. I had looked this up previously for a post I was preparing.

Also, if people are expected to conform to English here, I think I am going to the wrong places. I still find it extremely difficult at times to communicate with anyone in English. Then again, I’m in Kuwait and don’t expect it, lol. It’s rather foolish when people expect people to cater to them at all times. Condascending is a better fit then pompous is though, William.

Question for the Deera Chat Family: Do you find yourself THINKING in English, or Arabic?

20. BeDoOr - January 5, 2008

Dear Deera chat family ,
Changing my comment annyed me .

Thanks alot ,

21. feelingstalk - January 6, 2008

wallahi … i use to talk in arabic till i graduated from university .. after that i realized that i need to practice my english more and more cause everything in my work is in english .. that why i used it since then in everytime .. sometime i find difficulty in expressing my feelings or thought in arabic 😛
i guess english is so important in life ,, bs hm lazm ma nensa 7jina al7lo

22. Fayaz Khan - January 21, 2008

I Love to leran Arabic, Its a holy language and its a sign of every individual muslim, I would want to tell you all that even we live abroad or we grew abroad we dont have to leave our tradition.

Regards’
Arman khan, (Resides in Kuwait)

23. Safi - February 20, 2008

Independent of what I may have as an opinion concerning this topic I would like to add something. I don’t see this podcast team is in any position to actually ‘tell’ people it’s wrong to speak in English. Of course you may speak of it, but still you cannot expect people to take what you say seriously; since you, after all, speak Arabic with English ‘dash 3ar’9.
Other than that, nice job on the podcast.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

I am Kuwaiti but me no Arabic December 28, 2007

Posted by Deera Chat Family in culture, kuwait, language, Podcast.
trackback

we have talked about injecting English phrases in our conversations in the Kuwaitish episode, this week we will be talking about just talking English 24/7 and forgetting about Arabic. People are teaching their kids English when they r babes till they grow up in and outside the house which is making them forget totally about their mother language. Is that good or bad? do we need Arabic now or everything is converting to English anyways so why bother? listen us to our show this week to find out the answers

Comments

1. Outkasty - December 28, 2007

LOOOOL! lighbaar ma3lam min ma3alim jawna, fa ohma 7abbaw yejme3on ma3lemmain ib-mokan wa7ed

2. BeDoOr - December 28, 2007

Soug sharg ! waahahahahahaha 😀 ..

tomorrow morning *sat* im Gona go to kuwait Towers in the morning 😀 in a photography visite with my bro and nephews and neice 😀 .. cuz they lived out side kuwait for like … long time .. so yeah they have to see kuwait ! .. and kuwait towers … hope its not dusty though :/

you’re right Ali .. about working in english suroundings ..
i dont blame kids too .. when they go to english private schools ..
but i have a point .. about the cultures.. i knew some ppl .. they’re amaricans but they learn english .. why here in kuwait we’re not talking arabic so they can learn .. why would we talk english and feel ashamed if we couldnt talk to anyone in english ?! ..

they’re in our country they should learn arabic ..

but it has great good sides for sure .

as for me .. i work in a gov sector ( yeah i know a BIG FAT YUCK dont get me started ) but oh well .. my work ofcourse is in arabic .. most of it .. but when it comes for me to write a note or something .. i’ll type it in english or write it ..
at first i found it just silly to have notes in english just cuz i dont know how to phrase what i want to write for my boss in arabic ! .. i laugh when i read what i right in arabic and just throw out the paper and right it in english ..specially when i read his CV that he’s a harvard graduate .. so yeah that made it easier ;)) .. although i read alot of arabic and english books .. i just find it easier for me to express .. ;$ * shy face * but im working on it ..

thanks guys ..

3. SpaCe`` - December 28, 2007

ليش بالديرة هذه الكل يتفلسف بالصج والجذب؟
واحد ايام يدرس بجامعة الكويت يقول راحت لغتي العربية لانه الدراسة كلها بالانجليزي!! ياخي ندرس برة وماراحت لغتنا ولاشي واسوء شي يصير انك تفقد الكلمات الاولى خصوصا بالحالات المفاجاة لكن بالاوقات العادية وغير المفاجاه نغرد بالعربي.
ديرة بكبرها لازم تدش الطب النفسي والمشكلة ناثر على الى يشتغلون عندنا. مهاجر ايراني هني مشتغل بالكويت يقولي انا عندي فلوس وايد بس اشتغل عشان املي وقت فراغي … ايراني ثاني مشتغل بدبي ومهاجر قالي نفس الكلمة. لو انا امريكي ولا بريطاني ولاكندي بيقولولي الكلام هذا؟ اكيد لا. لان هذا تاثير الكويت والكويتييين وديرة التفلسف.

4. Fast Lane - December 28, 2007

I think its very imp for us to rem our roots..so to keep up with it we need arabic side by side with english!

5. BornConfuzed - December 28, 2007

I saw a caricature some time ago, depicting an Arabic teacher telling his student “You have to learn ‘kan w akhawatuha’ to be able to solve crosswords in magazines”. Well isn’t that just becoming a sad reality?

6. Perfecty - December 29, 2007

i completely agree with fast lane.

7. Deera chat family - December 29, 2007

By the way, did you notice that if you need something, like a chair or newspaper in Starbucks, you tend to ask the other customers in English!

8. BornConfuzed - December 29, 2007

Some time ago I saw a caricature, depicting an Arabic teacher telling his student “You have to learn kan w akhawatuha to be able to solve crosswords in magazines”.
Well isn’t that just becoming so sadly true?

9. William - December 29, 2007

English is the most prominent language when it comes to communication and commerce. I am speaking globally here. It seems the vast majority of people know at least a little bit of English. It can never hurt to know more than one language.

As far as forgetting your roots… Languages fade without practice. In and around the Middle East I am sure it is possible to keep your Arabic “up to date,” as some would say. If you travel to a country to live where the majority of the people speak English, the Arabic will fade. It’s not a choice; it’s a side effect of society.

The comment from Bedoor… “they’re in our country they should learn arabic .. ” That’s a very pompous thing to say, if in fact you were completely serious. If people want to remain ignorant, I think we should let them. Some of us have learned or are learning Arabic and have really embraced the culture.

10. bO_s3ayD - December 30, 2007

aGol eShfeeh eL seXy ? :p lool

Nice topic guys you always bring good subjects wana a7ayeekom 3la hal shy :p

This is right many ppl are abandoning the arabic and apeaking english as much as they can thinking that it’s cool and stuff!!

this very wrong and for me someone who’s graduated from an english school and a fluent apeaker I don’t really speak english with my friends at all!! I’m Kuwaiti and I love my language and will speak it all the time, with Arabs ofcourse.

Those Kuwaities who speak english with their friends I always look at them in a sarcastic way and (AngeD 3LehOm!!)

that’s all

thaNks fOr readin’

11. Tristram Shandy - December 30, 2007

There’s nothing to be ashamed of speaking a foreign language even with your own but it is shameful when people cannot communicate and properly, in their native. I see this happening all the time with upwardly mobile Indians living both in mainland India and overseas. Knowing how to speak posh English is one thing but not knowing how to speak in your mother tongue is quite another. There are in fact, any number of Indians who are rather proud at not being able to think in their vernacular for somehow it makes them feel they’ve arrived, and this I think is sad. It’ almost like saying they are itching to have their Indianness removed. I don’t know if the Arab diaspora is in partial agreement, at least, with their experience of this phenomenon.

12. BeDoOr - December 30, 2007

انا ما قلت اني ماعرف اتكلم عربي ولا اعبر .. بس بالدوام احس اسهل لي من اني اكتب شي بالعربي …
=)
و لانه ديرة شات مكان احبه وايد راح اقولكم مشكورين و ماقصرتو
=))))

13. Hamad - January 1, 2008

your topic was interesting ..
the way you said everything and the aspects of it was simple and you reached the point so quick ..
keep it up ..

14. Deera chat family - January 2, 2008

Hamad
thank you for your comment, we appreciate the feedback, we have some really nice topics for you for the next month so stay toned 🙂 you will love it

15. q8tiya - January 2, 2008

I realize that this may be a couple of days too late but I was happy to see that this issue was being discussed. It’s overwhelmingly obvious that over relatively recent years, English has invaded the country and is, unfortunately, showing no signs of relenting.
And while I will concede that it is by far the language most often used for communication all over the world, English is easily outranked by a string of different languages, not least of which is Arabic.
As for the comment made by William about the supposedly ‘pompous’ comment by Bedoor, his is a comment that I utterly disagree with. First I’d like to applaud your effort to learn Arabic and immerse yourself in a new culture. I assure you that your life will be enriched by the language and the experience. And I too believe that learning a new language is never a bad thing.
However, I do not find what Bedoor said pompous at all. I think that native English speakers are far more pompous when they travel to countries that are steeped in rich history and ancient culture and assume that the people of said country speak English. I find this attitude to be fantastically condescending; why is it pompous for someone to say “they’re in our country they should learn arabic .. ” when we, as Kuwaitis and Arabs, do the same thing, and are in fact expected to do the same thing, when we travel to English speaking countries?!
Why are we expected to accommodate English speakers in their own AS WELL AS in OUR own country, while it is acceptable for them to exempt themselves from the very rule they have come to expect people around the world to conform to?!

16. Deera Chat Family - January 3, 2008

Q8tiya:
loved your comment, we agree with you fully. (saved us a lot of writing)

17. Nicole - January 3, 2008

I guess, it’s good when the kids are able to speak English, but they shouldn’t forget their Mother tongue over it.
That’s just sad 😦

18. William - January 3, 2008

@Q8tiya: It was a pointed comment at a statement that has become all too common in every society in the world. If you travel to an English speaking country, most people would expect you to speak or learn some English.. not because of your nationality, but because you speak a foreign language. The same goes for every society, You do bring up good points though. In general, I would agree that English speakers are more demanding when it comes to foreigners learning their language. Anyone who takes that position I feel is acting in a pompous (condascending, your word fits much better) manner.

I would disagree that you are expected to accomodate English speakers in your own country as well, but I will not deny the fact that many here do attempt to accomodate. I made the decision to try and improve my written/spoken arabic because I found myself in too many situations where I was unable to communicate with someone due to them not speaking English, or speaking it poorly. (My arabic is still rather atrocious, but it’s passable at times.)

19. Sam - January 4, 2008

Another interesting topic. The comments are also rather fascinating.

I think it is important for children and adults alike to be able to speak their mother tongue. It’s part of who you are, who your parents are, and where you came from. It’s not wrong to forget it, but I do find it rather sad. My English declines every now and again, but I do everything I can to recover it. It’s my first language. I won’t give it up.

Everyone expects people to accomodate them in some form or another. It’s human nature. From my personal experience, I do agree with “Q8tiya” that English speakers are worse in this regard to other languages. Anyone in an English speaking country that does not know the language is expected to conform, regardless of which country you are from. English is only outranked by Mandarin Chinese in number of speakers though. Spanish and Hindi seem to alternate 3rd and 4th, while Arabic is at 5th. The numbers vary depending on which study you read and the sources they used. I had looked this up previously for a post I was preparing.

Also, if people are expected to conform to English here, I think I am going to the wrong places. I still find it extremely difficult at times to communicate with anyone in English. Then again, I’m in Kuwait and don’t expect it, lol. It’s rather foolish when people expect people to cater to them at all times. Condascending is a better fit then pompous is though, William.

Question for the Deera Chat Family: Do you find yourself THINKING in English, or Arabic?

20. BeDoOr - January 5, 2008

Dear Deera chat family ,
Changing my comment annyed me .

Thanks alot ,

21. feelingstalk - January 6, 2008

wallahi … i use to talk in arabic till i graduated from university .. after that i realized that i need to practice my english more and more cause everything in my work is in english .. that why i used it since then in everytime .. sometime i find difficulty in expressing my feelings or thought in arabic 😛
i guess english is so important in life ,, bs hm lazm ma nensa 7jina al7lo

22. Fayaz Khan - January 21, 2008

I Love to leran Arabic, Its a holy language and its a sign of every individual muslim, I would want to tell you all that even we live abroad or we grew abroad we dont have to leave our tradition.

Regards’
Arman khan, (Resides in Kuwait)

23. Safi - February 20, 2008

Independent of what I may have as an opinion concerning this topic I would like to add something. I don’t see this podcast team is in any position to actually ‘tell’ people it’s wrong to speak in English. Of course you may speak of it, but still you cannot expect people to take what you say seriously; since you, after all, speak Arabic with English ‘dash 3ar’9.
Other than that, nice job on the podcast.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

