jump to navigation

Are you a tipper? October 26, 2007

Posted by Deera Chat Family in culture, Podcast, tips.
trackback

Mr. Pink (reservoir dogs movie) once said: ” I don’t tip because society says I have to. All right, if someone deserves a tip, if they really put forth an effort, I’ll give them something a little something extra. But this tipping automatically, it’s for the birds. As far as I’m concerned, they’re just doing their job”

So,

Do you Agree or not??

listen to our episode and let us know what you think.

and Ali is totally with Mr. Blue to tip based on tips 😉tip mr pink deera chat

Comments

1. BornConfuzed - October 27, 2007

I’ve been listening to your podtcasts since the second espisode, and they just keep getting better.
Kudos to you guys =)

2. Salah - October 28, 2007

“When in Rome, do as the Romans do” I usually check what the norm is when I want to go to a foreign country. If they give tips like in the States then I do just the same with a big smile on my face, and if they don’t give tips like in the UK then I don’t (with exceptions of course). In Kuwait I get confused. There is no one culture in there, but I try my best!

If I receive excellent service then I give whatever country I’m in regardless of the culture.

Thank you,

3. Another Salah - October 30, 2007

Hey guys. First of all, again you came up with one of the coolest topics to talk about. But the podcast ended before you guys completed the discussion.

Anyways, I honestly don’t really know how the tipping is working in Kuwait, but I can see how things would go there.

Before anything, bo 7seen I understand your point when you say that we have to tip as a common courtesy. However, I don’t agree with you.

Msa3ed, I want to tell you that I admire your position in the whole tipping dilemma. I am on the same side you are. I’ve always thought that a restaurant is one place you go for food services. So why should we pay for the service as an extra charge? You know Msa3ed I was surprised that you didn’t mention the fact that sometimes waiters/waitresses would follow the customer outside the restaurant to ask for more tip (that’s in the U.S).

Again thank you for great discussion.

4. Bashar - October 31, 2007

It is mostly as you pointed out in the beginning. Usually I eat outside once a week with the family or friends. I want to have nice time there. Waiters job is to serve food, and if he does it with good well, and he is serving me great, I like to give him a tip for a thank. However I never consider it a must, and really, sometimes Chilis service sucks as you pointed out.

I also had such case with Jungle something cafe in Layla Gallery. Waiter just couldn’t do much worse. Too much waiting, wrong order, cold food, hot juice. So I was preparing 5 fils tip as a polite insult. When I found out service charge is included in bill I refused to pay it.

You cannot have service charge as built in for a reason. I am already paying triple the meal cost because I am dining in, using your facilities, and part of that facility is the service. The same meal costs 1 KD some where else but here I could pay 6 KD for eating in nice place. If I like the waiter I will tip him, if I don’t then he just shouldn’t feel bad about it.

Worst thing I saw was in Pizza Hut Khaleejia. Note it’s only Pizza Hut. We sat and ordered their Lunch offer. eat all you want, but you can only chose from 4 pizza types and get a drink! Everything else is just additional cost. Anyways, the indian waiter seemed a bit rude from the beginning I didn’t like him. And before we get even the drinks he put on the table a bill inside a small red plate. The plate had the words “For your on convenience, tip the waiter”. I was like WHAT? Is that a threat? and since when do you get the bill before the food? I ate all I want and not a single fils for my convenience :P. Doesn’t get more silly.

Salah: I like the quote :). I think if in a country where it’s a must to pay service charge, maybe it’s difficult to escape it. I’ll have to be in the shoes to be able to tell.

5. Mohammad - November 4, 2007

I’m not pro tipping… as Musaed said ‘why pay for a main part of the original service’… I would like to have the option to pay or not pay the service charge.. I mean you cannot force me to pay for a service that I consider normal (not exceptional) but give me a chioce to tip if I like to.. But I think most restaurants put this extra charge trying to be like first class (hotel) restaurants. that’s why I hate hotel restaurants..
As Musaed said .. I also like to do things on my own accord not forced to or fooled to…


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

