jump to navigation

Kuwaitilish … the new form of communication December 21, 2006

Posted by Deera Chat Family in culture, language, Podcast.
trackback

We hear it all the time, especially in Deera-Chat, the mixing and constant swinging between Arabic and English, why so? Why do we switch languages half way through the conversation. This happens every where, can we control it? Should we control it? Is it annoying? Is it offensive? So listen to this episode to find the answers to all the above questions and please comment if you liked or didn’t like what you hear 😉

Comments

1. Dianne - March 9, 2007

Great looking site so far!! I’m just starting to look around it but I love the title page!

2. Nora-Cassandra - March 18, 2007

I had the same prob when living in Kuwait. I’m half Finn, and Half Kuw. I was born in Fin and I didn’t speak any Arabic till I was 7. I was always looked at as a foreigner there; especially I’m a Christian too. Some didn’t even believe I had a Kuwaiti father! Well it seems now you have it more and all over there. I left about 10 years ago, and I did see it a bit more, but never thought it’ll get as much as you are saying.

I’m happy that you made this podcast and you know where and when you can mix, and when can’t. I never though it was Felsefah, I just say the first word that comes to my lips, Arabic was or English!

3. Deera Chat Family - March 18, 2007

Dianne
thanks and welcome on board
make sure you check out site again and tell your friends

Nora Cassandra
yeah things have changed where people know a bit about other people!! and unfamiliar is considered acceptable “to an extent” which is still annoying but better than before
hehehe
by the way we really appreciate having a cool finish lady in our podcast
Deera Chat Cheers for All half Finish half Kuwaiti listeners 😉

4. Deera Chat Family - March 19, 2007

Nora Cassandra:
I think the best way is to be mindfull of the people around you and their english, it easy to give the wrong idea about ones intentions 🙂

5. I am Kuwaiti but me no Arabic - December 28, 2007

[…] in Popup | Download we have talked about injecting English phrases in our conversations in the Kuwaitish episode, this week we will be talking about just talking English 24/7 and forgetting about Arabic. People […]

6. Sam - January 4, 2008

I find this topic very interesting. I feel that sometimes when people cannot understand what you are saying, they immediately become suspect. I have seen this many times in America, specifically with Spanish. It happens everywhere though.

My personal opinion on the matter is that you could control it, but why should you have to? I, for one, have no problem with it. Being someone fluent in English and learning Arabic, it actually benefits myself and should benefit others who can speak or who are attempting to speak both languages. Split conversation keeps my English vocabulary sharp and improves my Arabic.

I’m Muslim, American, have lived in Kuwait a few years, and my wife-to-be is from Iraq. Speaking both languages during conversation is a way of life for myself. I support it.

7. Blogs From Kuwait » culturaldysfunction.com - January 6, 2008

[…] was talking about speaking both Arabic and English while in conversation.  It was referred to as Kuwaitilish.  Being someone who learned English as a first language, and engaged to someone who learned Arabic […]

8. Safat:: Salwa Edition » Blog Archive » I am Kuwaiti but me no Arabic - May 13, 2008

[…] have talked about injecting English phrases in our conversations in the Kuwaitish episode, this week we will be talking about just talking English 24/7 and forgetting about Arabic. People […]


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

